personal

Holding the Conch Shell

Hello, dear readers!

I know you’re busy, but this is important. Extremely important. Election day is fast approaching, and I’m getting anxious. To be honest, I’m well past sick and tired of the mud-slinging ads and debates. In all honesty, I just want to get vote in as quickly as possible.

But.

But if I continue to view my responsibility as a voter this way, I’m just creating more of a problem.

As an American citizen, I have the choice to vote. (Growing up, I thought that you had to vote, otherwise you’d get in trouble.) But, as a member of a democratic society, I must vote in order to continue this cycle.

In Lord of the Flies, a book that focuses on democracy, the boys on the island use a conch shell as their symbol of democracy. When they hold meetings, the person holding the shell has the ability to share their thoughts, while the rest of the group listens. But, as the novel progresses, the acts of the boys become steadily more violent, and in the end, the conch shell–the symbol of democracy–breaks. With this event, the group of more violent boys begin a plot to kill our protagonist, for there is no democracy.

I understand that this is a slippery slope effect, but voting and the conch shell seem oddly similar in my mind.

Voting is one of the most important things we can do as a democratic society. If I want to continue to have a say in our politics, then I must keep voting. Voting is like holding a conch shell–if I want to say something, I must use a pen to convey my thoughts.

Meghan

 

Add your thoughts.

