music

Dan Bull

Hello, dear readers!

Recently, I’ve been falling back into an indie rap kick. This is my jam when it comes to rap–I cannot stand the phony “drugs, sex, booze, monnay (money),” spiel on the radio. That said, I don’t deny that popular artists like Eminem are damn good at what they do; that’s not it, personally, I prefer to listen to rap that isn’t misogynistic or repetitive without good reason. I love groups that use alliteration, narrative, accidental poetry as Dessa describes it.

Lately, I’m obsessing over the new Dan Bull raps I’ve downloaded. For those of you who haven’t heard of Dan, he raps mostly about games, gaming culture, and occasionally about his personal life.

Dan’s ability to rap is fueled by his gift of autism. I say gift because he himself refers to the important role that his autistic brain allows him to be more creative. While he does mention the social hardships that is common among individuals who are autistic, I find myself wholeheartedly agreeing with what he’s saying. Yes, it’s a label that can make people look and think about you differently, but what some people don’t realize is that autism helps you look at the world through a different lens.

As a creative person, I am so grateful for my own personal gift.

Dan Bull may not be very popular, or well-known, but I feel he should be. He writes strong, witty, and smart raps about games like Minecraft, Borderlands 2, Dishonored, Fallout, and Skyrim to name a few. To say he’s prolific is an understatement: his list on iTunes is very long, but promising.

The man is a genius who respects the history of the Internet, as well as the history of gaming. He clearly knows his stuff.

If you’re a gamer, even a casual one, you need to at least try some of his tracks.

Seriously:

Dishonored Rap

Borderlands 2

Overwatch Epic Rap

Enjoy!

Meghan

Add your thoughts.

